My IBD quiz answers.

Hello again 🙂

So I thought I’d do this quiz and fill out my own answers that I got from http://merandaroben.wordpress.com 

Here are the questions & my answers:

IBD Q & A

  • Do you have Crohn’s Disease or Ulcerative Colitis?

I have Crohn’s Disease in remission and had Crohn’s Colitis (Crohn’s of the Colon) before my surgery to get rid of that piece of hell colon in 2011! Good riddance!

  • What was the most embarrassing IBD related thing that has happened to you thus far?

Hmm…I’m not too sure, there are a few things. One was probably when I had a scan and they had to insert a tube up my rectum to pass air into it to dilate it and because I was so narrow it really hurt and burst a bit of the lining and made me bleed. When I was on the way home after, my Mum & I stopped at a supermarket to get me something to eat and drink and I suddenly got the urge to go to the toilet and didn’t make it in time. All the blood and mucus just came flooding out and I had to get my mum’s hoody and wrap it around my waist covering my bum and legs until I got to the toilet to clean myself up then the car to change. It hurt so much! 

  • How did you react when you were diagnosed with IBD?

I was 7 at the time so I don’t really remember much other than being confused and scared and just wanting to be out of pain.

  • When you were diagnosed did you already have an idea of what IBD was? if so were you right?

I didn’t really have a clue because I was so young but I knew my Uncle had a ‘poorly tummy’ at the time – he had Ulcerative Colitis. 

  • Whom is the most supportive person in your life?

The ones that are close to me and stick by me and aren’t just there when it suits them and when I’m not poorly – you know who you are ♥

  • Has the diagnosis changed your life?

Yes, in a lot of ways, but I guess the only choice we have is to deal with the hand we’ve been dealt in life when it comes to this sort of thing and do the best that we can to live with it and not let it defeat us. It has also meant that I have met a lot of inspirational people that I wouldn’t have met otherwise.

  • Are you embarrassed to tell people that you have IBD, how long does it take you to tell people you have IBD?

I used to be quite cautious a few years ago but now I’m not bothered because if people want to make fun of me for it or not even try to understand then that’s their problem, not mine. I don’t wave it in everyone’s faces that I’ve got IBD but if the opportunity comes up then I will mention it. It also seems to be more spoke about as well as of recent months and more people seem to have or know someone who has IBD.

  • What reactions have you had after telling people of your IBD?

Mainly people have been interested and willing to try and understand but of course, I have had a few people that have made jokes and found it disgusting that I have IBD. As hurt as I initially got by it, especially because it’s something I didn’t ask for or can control, I just told myself that people like that aren’t worth my time of day and that it would maybe come back on them one day if they developed an illness. Quite a lot of the time, people I tell can usually relate to either having IBD themselves or knowing somebody that does – whether that be a family member, friend or acquaintance. 

  • What is your main trigger food? (only one)

Hmm… Thick chips. Yuck.

  • What is the best and worst part about having IBD?

The best parts are meeting inspirational people, being able to help others with IBD and learning to appreciate things in life such as not taking the feeling for granted when you have an appetite etc and the worst parts were having literally no quality of life when I was really poorly, the pain, not being able to eat and struggling to put and keep weight on, which I still struggle with now. Also, the absolute worst part is when you lose somebody to it 😦 ♥

  • Lastly ,Where was the odd’s place you had to go to the toilet?!

I’ve had to go behind a bush before when walking in the countryside, not the most gracious of places!

Until next time,

Image

 

4 thoughts on “My IBD quiz answers.

  1. Thank you for posting this! I’m so sorry for your embarrassing experience. I’ve been there. No fun. I also have people who become disgusted or make jokes about it sometimes it hurts a lot, but I try to be grateful that they don’t know what I’m going through. Wouldn’t wish any form of IBD on anyone

    Like

Leave a Reply

