Trying new bags: An update.

Hello again readers 🙂

As I explained in my last post, I’ve been trying out new bags recently to try stop leaks. I tried the Pelican Select Convex and initially got on with these really well besides the few sticking issues round the edges. However, I had a full day out away from home yesterday and found a few issues with them; the material and the emptying outlet. Even at the start of the day shortly after I had put the bag on, I was worrying I had leaks as the material became damp against my skin quite easily and was making my skin sore down near the outlet as it rubbed against my skin. Also, I found it wasn’t that good to empty in my opinion – it was quite fiddly and messy. The way the outlet has two sides and isn’t so much a flap that you can just drop down on top of that made it really hard to clean output from around it properly, especially in the creases at the sides and I found that each time I emptied it output had been seeping out because of this between empties. I had reached the end of my tether with it towards the end of the day and changed it. If the material was softer against my skin (admittedly my skin is quite sensitive) and the outlet was different, then it would be okay, but all in all this bag doesn’t work for me. That’s not to say it won’t work for others though! What works for one person doesn’t work for another so it’s always good to try these things out.

My Coloplast Convex Light Sensura One-Piece samples arrived today. I’ve got on really well with these so far and I’m glad as the Coloplast adhesive has always worked the best for me. I’ve also cut the hole size a bit bigger on the bag (around 24mm) to accommodate my stoma when it moves about more and becomes more swollen when it’s active. These samples have a clear film on underneath the cloth cover though so it’s quite novel being able to see my stoma peeking through when I lift the split cover up as I usually have and will be ordering the opaque version.

Been to the doctors today and got a viral infection he thinks in my throat and altogether, so keeping on top of the ibuprofen and getting rest whenever I can. However, I’m not letting feeling poorly stop my plans for the Easter weekend! Got to keep smiling 🙂

I hope you all have a good Easter Bank Holiday weekend if I don’t post before then & thanks for reading.

Please feel free to follow me if you have a WordPress blog yourself (I would love to follow back & read yours) or subscribe my e-mail which you can do in the sidebar, if you wish 🙂

Thank you in advance.

Until next time,

Image

 

2 thoughts on “Trying new bags: An update.

  1. Have had an ileostomy for over forty years, since I was twenty-three; I know how hard it is to get appliances that don’t leak and that suit your skin. And live with all the extras- not enough energy, weariness… but it’s all worth it. Congratulations on your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

